Online Catalogue
Special Events
The A List
Chamber Music
Summer Festivals
New Music
Special Concerts
School of the Arts & Art Classes
Outreach & Education
About Us & Employment Opportunities
Join our Mailing List

 Jazz  ||  Chamber Music  || Summer Festivals  ||  New Music  ||  Mini-Concerts  ||  Special Concerts
  Calendar   ||  Maps and Driving Directions


For Victoria Martino Concert Lectures please see the Lectures page.

Johannes Brahms: The Complete Works for Violin and Piano
Victoria Martino, violin; James Lent, piano

Friday, March 6, 2015, 7:30 PM
$30 members, $35 nonmembers

Join Victoria Martino and James Lent in an inspiring and impassioned performance of Johannes Brahms’ beloved compositions for violin and piano, including the three canonical sonatas in G major, A major, and D minor, the fiery C-minor Scherzo from the "F-A-E" Sonata, and the composer’s own, rarely heard transcriptions of the two clarinet/viola sonatas in F minor and E-flat major.

This concert is the final installment in a three-concert series by Victoria Martino and James Lent, exploring the development of music from the pre-classical to the romantic styles. The first concert in this series, on November 12, 2014, celebrates the 300th birthday of Gluck and C.P.E. Bach, musical mentors of Mozart, and greatly admired by Brahms. In fact, Brahms arranged orchestral works by Gluck for the pianoforte, and was the editor of C.P.E. Bach’s keyboard compositions. Brahms engaged in a lifelong study of Mozart’s music, avidly collecting the composer’s manuscripts, and editing certain works, such as the Requiem.